Backlog + Teams

With the Microsoft Teams integration, you can use the Backlog app to perform specific Backlog commands, such as login or logout, add an issue in Backlog, and receive real-time notifications about Backlog issues.  

Notes: 

  • This feature is available for all user roles in Backlog. Some functions may not work for a certain user if any restrictions are applied to them in Backlog.
  • You cannot use this integration if your Backlog space has IP address restrictions.

 

Contents

Connect Teams with Backlog

How to use Microsoft Teams integration

2.1  Login command
2.2  Logout command
2.3  Add issue command
2.4  Add notification settings command

2.4.1  Update notification settings on Backlog project settings

2.5  Delete notification settings command

2.5.1  Delete notification settings from Backlog project settings

2.6  Help command

 

Connect Teams with Backlog

To connect Teams with Backlog, you will need to install the Backlog app on Microsoft Teams.

  1. On Microsoft Teams, click the “Apps” icon on the left menu to open the Apps tab. 
  2. Enter “Backlog” in the search field and search. 
  3. You can select Add to quickly add the Backlog app or select the drop-down menu to add the bot to a team, chat, or meeting channel.
  4. You will receive a welcome message that the app is added to the respective Teams chat. To get started, log in to Backlog via the bot.

 

How to use Microsoft Teams integration

Backlog is integrated with Microsoft Teams via the Backlog app, and you can perform certain Backlog actions using commands in Teams. In order to use the command, you will need to add the Backlog app to the relevant channel or chat.

The commands you can use with the Backlog bot are:

Command

Action

login

Log in to your Backlog account

logout

Log out from the current Backlog account

add issue

Add an issue to Backlog

add notification settings

Add project notification settings on Backlog to receive project’s notifications on Teams.

delete notification settings

Remove project notification settings on Backlog

help

Show help list

 

Tip: You can directly input commands (e.g. login) to your chat with the Backlog app. To use commands in the Teams, Meetings and other chat channels, you need to enter @backlog (select the app), then follow with the command (e.g. @backlog login).

 

Notes: 

  • You can only login to a single Backlog space at a time.
  • To add an issue, add or delete notification settings, you will need to log in to your Backlog account first via the app.

 

Login command

You can log in to Backlog by using the “login” command. 

  1. Enter “login” in the Backlog app chat or “@backlog login” in the team chat/channel.
  2. The bot will return a message, click the Log in button.
  3. Enter the Space ID that you wish to login to and click the Continue button.
  4. A pop-up screen will appear, click the Allow button. A successful login message will return if you have logged in successfully. 

To learn more about SpaceID, please refer to the Space ID support article.

 

Logout command

You can log out of Backlog by using the “logout” command.

  1. Enter “logout” in the Backlog app chat or “@backlog logout” in the team chat/channel.
  2. A successful logout message will return when the logout is complete. 

Note: If the Backlog project notifications setting has been set, the notifications will not be canceled or turned off when you’ve logged out using the command. To remove the notifications, refer to this section

 

Add issue command

You can quickly add an issue to your Backlog project by using the “add issue” command.

  1. Click the “b” logo and select Add issue or enter “add issue” command in the chat and select Add issue button from the returned message.
  2. Select the project from the drop-down list and click the Add Issue button. 
  3. A window will prompt. Enter your issue details and click the Add Issue button.
  4. When the issue is added, an issue-added message with the issue’s link will return in the chat.

Tip: When adding issues via the app, you can only enter the issue subject, type and description. To add more issue details, click on the added issue’s link on the chat and update them in Backlog.

 

Notes: 

  • If a member or guest role has been set to “view only” restriction, they are unable to use the add issue function. 
  • You can’t add issues via bot to projects that have custom field(s) set as mandatory. Projects that have set customs field(s) as mandatory will not appear in the project selection dialog.

 

Add notification settings command

You can add Teams channel/chat notifications for Backlog projects using the “add notification settings” command.

 

  1. Click the “b” logo and select Add notification settings or enter “add notification settings” command in the chat, and then select the Add notification settings button from the returned message. 
  2. A pop-up window will appear. Select the project from the drop-down list and click the Add notification settings button.
  3. When the process is completed, a project notification-added message will return in the chat.

Note: Only the administrator or project administrator can add the notification settings for projects they have access to. Unauthorized projects will not appear in the project selection dialog.

 

Update notification settings on Backlog project settings

If you have added a Teams channel/chat notification settings, you can update them at the project settings page on Backlog.

  1. Go to the Backlog project, select Project Settings > Integrations > click Settings from the Microsoft Teams integration.
  2. On the integration settings page, click the Edit button.
  3. Edit the language and description, and select the checkboxes for events you wish to receive on Teams. Click the Save button to apply the changes.

     

Tip: “Language” setting refers to the language of the notifications sent to the Teams chat. “Description” setting can be used for describing the integration.  

 

Note: You cannot change the notification destination (channel/chat) using the integration settings page. If you wish to change the notification destination, please delete the current notification settings and re-add the notification settings in another Teams channel or chat. 

 

Delete notification settings command

You can delete a Teams channel/chat notification settings for  Backlog projects using the bot in Teams. 

 

  1. Click the “b” logo and select Delete notification settings or enter “delete notification settings” command in the chat, and then select the Delete notification settings button from the returned message. 
  2. A pop-up window will appear. Select the project from the drop-down list and click the Delete notification settings button.
  3. When the process is completed, a project notification-deleted message will return in the chat.

Note: Only the administrator or project administrator can delete the notification settings for projects they have access to. Unauthorized projects will not appear in the project selection dialog.

 

Delete notification settings from Backlog project settings

Besides deleting the project notifications via the Teams bot, you can delete them from the project settings page on Backlog.

  1. Go to the Backlog project, select Project Settings > Integrations > click Settings from the Microsoft Teams integration.

  2. On the integration settings page, click the Edit button.
  3. Click the Delete button to remove the notification settings.



Help command

You can view the list of supported app commands in Teams by entering “help” in the Backlog app chat or type “@backlog help” in the team chat/channel.

 

Was this article helpful?