In Backlog, you can easily update your issue status in the comment section by selecting “Change Status”.
You can change the status to the default statuses - “Open, In Progress, Resolved, Closed” or to the custom statuses that have been added by your administrator or project administrator. Each issue can be set to one status only.
When an issue is created, it will automatically be set as “Open” status.
“Closed” status means the issue has been reviewed and completed. If you close an issue, it is possible to restore its status to other statuses.
Also, you can add information such as "Comment", "Assignee", “Start Date”, "Due Date", "Milestone", "Resolution", etc while you’re changing the status.
It is also possible to change the information without changing the issue status.